Governance & Staff

AVѧԺ's Governance Structure

The leadership of AVѧԺ consists of the AVѧԺ Board of Directors and the AVѧԺ Delegate Assembly (comprised of U.S. and exam user members).

AVѧԺ Delegate Assembly

The Delegate Assembly, AVѧԺ's voting body, convenes during the organization's annual meeting in August. Activity includes discussion and voting on AVѧԺ business items and election of individuals to the Board of Directors and Leadership Succession Committee. The Delegate Assembly is composed of two representatives from each member board of nursing. Member boards are divided into four geographical areas of the nation, referred to as: Area I (West); Area II (Midwest); Area III (Southeast); and Area IV (Northeast).

Learn more about AVѧԺ Member Boards >>
Review upcoming and past Delegate Assembly Materials >>

AVѧԺ Board of Directors

Between annual meetings of the Delegate Assembly, an 11-member, elected Board of Directors is charged with overseeing implementation of policy and directing the activities of AVѧԺ.

2023-2024 AVѧԺ Board of Directors

  • President: Jay P. Douglas, MSM, RN, CSAC, FRE
  • President-elect: Phyllis Polk Johnson, DNP, RN, FNP-BC
  • Treasurer:  Lori Scheidt, MBA-HCM
  • Area I Director: Danette Schloeder, DNP, RNC-OB, C-EFM, C-ONQS
  • Area II Director: Sue Painter, DNP, RN
  • Area III Director: Jose Delfin D. Castillo III, PhD, MSNA, CRNA, APRN 
  • Area IV Director: Barbara Blozen, EdD, MA, RN, BC CNL
  • Director-at-large: Lori Glenn, DNP, CNM, C-EFM, RN
  • Director-at-large: Tony Graham, MS, CPM
  • Director-at-large: Sue A. Tedford, MNSc, APRN
  • Director-at-large: Carol Timmings, MEd, RN

More about the Board of Directors >>

Committees and Special Committees

Most of AVѧԺ's objectives are accomplished through the committee process.    Committee or special committee membership is available to all current members and staff of AVѧԺ Member Boards. Committee and special committee activity is monitored throughout the year by the Board of Directors and reported to the membership at its annual Delegate Assembly.