News Release

AVѧԺ Award Ceremony to Honor Outstanding Nurse Regulators

Posted 06/10/2022
AVѧԺ will recognize its dedicated and exceptional membership and guests at its annual awards ceremony during the AVѧԺ Annual Meeting and Delegate Assembly, held in Chicago, Aug. 17-19, 2022.
Media Contact:

CHICAGO –– AVѧԺ will recognize its dedicated and exceptional membership and guests at its annual awards ceremony during the AVѧԺ Annual Meeting and Delegate Assembly, held in Chicago, Aug. 17-19, 2022.

Specific award recipients include:

Anne Coghlan, MScN, RN, former executive director and CEO, College of Nurses of Ontario, will be honored with the prestigious R. Louise McManus Award. Individuals receiving this award have made sustained and significant contributions through the highest commitment and dedication to the mission and vision of AVѧԺ.

Barbara Blozen, EdD, MA, RN-BC, CNL, board president, New Jersey Board of Nursing, will be given the Elaine Ellibee Award that is granted to a member who has served as a board president within the past two years and who has made significant contributions to AVѧԺ.

The North Dakota Board of Nursing will be awarded the Regulatory Achievement Award that recognizes the member board or associate member that has made an identifiable, significant contribution to the mission and vision of AVѧԺ in promoting public policy related to the safe and effective practice of nursing in the interest of public welfare.

In addition, service awards will be given to the following executive officers of nursing regulatory bodies (NRBs):

Five Years

Denise Bowen, MN, RN, executive director, Registered Nurses Association of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut

Jeff Busjahn, nursing bureau manager, Utah State Board of Nursing

Karen E.B. Evans, MSN, RN-BC, SD-CLTC, CLC, executive director, Maryland Board of Nursing

Phyllis Polk Johnson, DNP, RN, FNP-BC, executive director, Mississippi Board of Nursing

Carol Moody, MS, RN, NEA-BC, administrator, South Carolina Board of Nursing

Carol Moreland, MSN, RN, executive administrator, Kansas State Board of Nursing

Joy Peacock, MSc, RN, chief executive officer/registrar, College and Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta

Kerry Ryan Przybylo, JD, manager, Boards and Committees Section, Michigan Board of Nursing

Wanda Wadman, MN, RN, chief executive officer/registrar, College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Newfoundland and Labrador

10 Years

Lynn Ansardi, RN, executive director, Louisiana State Board of Practical Nurse Examiners

Cynthia Johansen, MAL, MSc, registrar/chief executive officer, British Columbia College of Nurses and Midwives

Suzanne Sullivan, JD, RN, executive secretary, New York State Board of Nursing

20 Years
Jay Douglas, MSM, RN, CSAC, FRE, executive director, Virginia Board of Nursing
2022 Centennial Award
College of Registered Nurses of Prince Edward Island

About AVѧԺ

Empowering and supporting nursing regulators across the world in their mandate to protect the public, AVѧԺ is an independent, not-for-profit organization. As a global leader in regulatory excellence, AVѧԺ champions regulatory solutions to borderless health care delivery, agile regulatory systems and nurses practicing to the full scope of their education, experience and expertise. A world leader in test development and administration, AVѧԺ’s NCLEX® AVѧԺ are internationally recognized as the preeminent nursing examinations. 

AVѧԺ’s membership is comprised of the nursing regulatory bodies (NRBs) in the 50 states, the District of Columbia and four U.S. territories. There are three exam user members and 27 associate members that are either NRBs or empowered regulatory authorities from other countries or territories. 

The statements and opinions expressed are those of AVѧԺ and not individual members.